Seth Lloyd
search externally:   Google Scholar,   Springer,   CiteSeer,   Microsoft Academic Search,   Scirus ,   DBlife


Seth Lloyd received a Ph.D. in Physics from Rockefeller University, under the supervision of Heinz Pagels.

He was a postdoctoral fellow in the High Energy Physics Department at the California Institute of Technology, where he worked with Murray Gell-Mann on applications of information to quantum-mechanical systems. He was a postdoctoral fellow at Los Alamos National Laboratory, where he worked at the Center for Nonlinear Systems on quantum computation. Since 1988, Lloyd has also been an adjunct faculty member at the Santa Fe Institute. br> Lloyd is a principal investigator at the Research Laboratory of Electronics. He has performed seminal work in the fields of quantum computation and quantum communications, including proposing the first technologically feasible design for a quantum computer, demonstrating the viability of quantum analog computation, proving quantum analogs of Shannon's noisy channel theorem, and designing novel methods for quantum error correction and noise reduction.

Lloyd is a member of the American Physical Society and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.


flag The Quantum Geometric Limit
as author at  Workshop on Statistical Physics of Inference and Control Theory, Granada 2012,
flag The Second Law and Energy (Panel)
as moderator at  MIT World Series: Meeting the Entropy Challenge,
together with: Thomas Widmer, Ernest S. Geskin, James Keck, Noam Lior, Debjyoti Banerjee, Richard Peterson, Erik Ydstie, Ron Zevenhoven, Zhuomin Zhang, Ahmed F. Ghoniem,
flag Foundations of the Second Law
as author at  MIT World Series: Meeting the Entropy Challenge,
together with: Robert J. Silbey (moderator), Owen Maroney, Silviu Guiasu, Ping Ao, Jochen Gemmer, Bernard Guy, Gian Paolo Beretta, Speranta Gheorghiu-Svirschevski, Dorion Sagan,
flag Frontiers of the Second Law
as moderator at  MIT World Series: Meeting the Entropy Challenge,
together with: Adrian Bejan, Bjarne Andresen, Miguel Rubi, Signe Kjelstrup, David Jou, Miroslav Grmela, Lyndsay Gordon, Eric Schneider, George N. Hatsopoulos,