Douglas I. Foy
search externally:   Google Scholar,   Springer,   CiteSeer,   Microsoft Academic Search,   Scirus ,   DBlife


Douglas Foy is a member of the EnergyClimate Solutions Board of Directors and a Senior Advisor to the company. He is founder and President of Serrafix, a company devoted to the development of clean tech enterprises, primarily in the areas of energy efficiency, affordable housing, smart growth, and climate change. Serrafix clients include the Cities of New York (NY), Milwaukee (WI), Charleston (SC), Somerville (MA), and Cambridge (MA), IKEA Corporation, Federal Realty Investment Trust, Stewards of Affordable Housing for the Future, the Kraft Group, the Rockefeller Foundation, the Pew Charitable Trusts, the Kendall Foundation, the Summit Foundation, DUDA Farm Fresh Foods, the Mystic View Task Force, McDermott Will & Emery, and Cabot, Cabot & Forbes. Prior to founding Serrafix, Mr. Foy served as the first secretary of the Massachusetts Office for Commonwealth Development. Governor Mitt Romney created this “super secretariat,” and recruited Mr. Foy to be its first leader, to coordinate housing, transportation, energy and the environment, and to encourage more sustainable development in Massachusetts. Under Foy, the Office for Commonwealth Development received the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Award for Overall Excellence in Smart Growth. At Commonwealth Development, Foy oversaw the Executive Office of Transportation, the Executive Office of Environmental Affairs, the Department of Housing and Community Development and the Department of Energy Resources. Those four agencies are responsible for all infrastructure (other than schools) in the Commonwealth, including roads, bridges, transit, parks, sewers, water systems, energy, and housing. The agencies also regulate environmental protection and housing development, and guide the growth agenda for Massachusetts. Collectively, the Commonwealth Development agencies employ some 11,000 people.


flag (eco)Logical: Greening the 21st Century City
as author at  MIT World Series: Kevin Lynch Award,
together with: Richard M. Daley, Ken Greenberg, Hillary Brown, Robert Campbell,