Geoff Sutcliffe
search externally:   Google Scholar,   Springer,   CiteSeer,   Microsoft Academic Search,   Scirus ,   DBlife


Geoff Sutcliffe is an Associate Professor, and Director of Undergraduate Studies, in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Miami. He received a BSc(Hons) and MSc from the University of Natal, and a PhD in Computer Science from the University of Western Australia. His research is in the area of Automated Reasoning, particularly in the evaluation and effective use of automated reasoning systems. His most prominent achievements are: the first ever development of a heterogeneous parallel deduction system, leading to the development of the SSCPA automated reasoning system; the development and ongoing maintenance of the TPTP problem library, which is now the de facto standard for testing classical logic automated reasoning systems; the development and ongoing organization of the CADE ATP System Competition - the world championship for classical logic automated reasoning systems; and the specification of the TPTP language standards for automated reasoning tools. The research has been supported by grants from the National Science Foundation, the German Ministry for Research, the Australian Research Council, the European Union, and internal university grants from Edith Cowan University, James Cook University, and the University or Miami. The research has produced over 70 journal and conference papers. Additionally, he has been guest editor of several special journal issues on topics in automated reasoning. He has contributed to the automated reasoning and artificial intelligence communities as the conference chair of the 14th and 19th International Conferences on Automated Deduction (CADE), conference chair and program co-chair of the 12th International Conference on Logic for Programming Artificial Intelligence and Reasoning (LPAR), conference chair of the 18th LPAR, program co-chair of the 19th and 20th International FLAIRS Conferences, chair of the 21st FLAIRS Conference, co-founder and organizer of the "ES*" series of workshops on Empirically Successful Automated Reasoning, and as a regular program committee member and reviewer for automated reasoning and artificial intelligence journals and conferences. He has served three terms as a CADE trustee, and is currently the vice-president of FLAIRS. As a faculty member he has supervised and examined several graduate theses, serves on the University and College curriculum committees at the University of Miami, and was the PI of a $467575 NSF grant providing scholarships for students taking Computer Science or Mathematics as a second major.


best paper
flag Theorem proving competition overview and results
as author at  Alan Turing Centenary Conference Manchester, 2012,